I’m a teen mom! No wait…that’s not quite right…

I should say I’m now a Mom of a Teen.

As of today, I became the parent of the elusive teen. A male. Taller than I. Brown hair. Brown eyes. Happiest smile.

He is THIRTEEN!

How the world did that happen?!?

I’m pretty sure it was only yesterday he was born.

He has grown into a lovely boy! No-lovely, young man!

Wait, are moms allowed to say that about their teen boys?

Can we call them lovely?

Can we call them ANYTHING?

Prolly not.

But I don’t care. I will call him lovely. Because he really, truly is. His heart is so pure, so wonderful, so…

so

lovely.

It is just the perfect word to describe him.

And what do you get a brand new teen?

This is like a mile-stone birthday so it should be special!

I did this while he was at school today:

Some of his favorite things, 13 of each! (Except the Moon Pies, the store didn’t have enough. Technically he’s getting 14 pies, because there are two in each package, so it counts. Maybe I should eat one…)

Yeah, I think he’ll like it and it will be a nicely perfect surprise when he gets home.

My boy. My lovely boy is now 13.

Gosh that’s gonna take some time to wrap my head around!

But I’ll still call him lovely, even when this is the response I get:

It’s totes worth it.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Family, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m a teen mom! No wait…that’s not quite right…

  1. Dumblond says:

    Welcome to the club! And happy birthday to big K!

Leave a Reply

