Summer, Summer, Summer!

Does that sound like a toddler’s tiny, high-pitched voice accompanied by a stamping of the foot?

Perhaps a teenagers gravelly rant?

Or my sing-song-y lilt?

It’s prolly a combo of all of the above…summer is here, I’m super excited! But where is the heat?

Maybe soon we’ll break 70 degress…or not. One never knows here in the Pacific Northwest, but we roll with it. Because it IS summer at last!

What are your plans for summer?

We have made a few. Visit the zoo, go on a hike once a week, hit the beaches as often as possible, picnic heavily and smile everyday.

We also have something new. A new summer ‘routine’. I must quotation that because the whole point of summer is to lose the routine. This summer, there is just a bit of one that we’ll try out.

The kids are not exactly thrilled with all of it, but they are willing and understand the reasons of they why’s and how come’s…

When we wake up each morning the first thing will be a 10 minute devotional time for each of us. This will not be the same 10 minutes. My youngest is an early, early riser, 5-6 a.m. is not uncommon. I’m a 5:45-6:12 awaken-er, riser can happen any time between then and 7. Oldest rises at anyones guess. I’m figuring the 10 a.m. hour will be more his ‘norm’. But the 1 p.m. will not shock me. Whenever the rising takes place, the devotional is to follow.

After devotionals will be some school work time. Yes I’m one of ‘those’ moms. I make my kids keep up with the basics every summer. It really pays off! I see my kids excel each and every year in school. *Mom brag moment: HE MADE THE HONOR ROLL! WOOT!* Really, it’s not hours and hours of schooling, just 10-20 minutes or so.

After that then the part they are not thrilled with: 30 minutes of weeding.

Ugh. For all of us. This will be like pulling teeth. But have you seen the size of my yard? The size of the weeds? This is a must. If I don’t have help, they will win! My yard will become dandy-ed alright-with Lions! Bonus though-the oldest gets to learn the lawn tractor this year! (Let the driving lessons commence-eep!)

Lastly, they will need to read for an hour. Anytime they want. Morning, noon or night, but an hour. Any book, anywhere, anytime. This is not pulling teeth. We all love our books! Summer reading program here we come!

Add all that up and I’m only asking for about two hours of their long summer day. It’s not so much to ask.

And we will fill all those in-between moments full of non-routine hours. All the summer fun we can find! A bike ride to Mora Ice Creamery is all about the fun, with yummy ice cream on top!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Family, General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

