Learning to weed an ants nest.

As the title says, Sherie stop reading now, if you even made it this far.

It was a most gorgeous day in the Pacific Northwest! The sun was shining plenty! My lower back will be proof of that. There is a nice sun burn stretching one end to the other of it. Sunscreen. It’s important for even the backside. Oops.

Because the sun was shining and we are coming off a very wet week, I got out there in the yard and began to pull some ginormous weeds. The combination of heavily rained soil on a warm day equals perfect weeding weather. Not only does the yard look better, you get to soak up warm Vitamin D!

So I was out there weeding away when I noticed an ant. Then another. Then another.

Then another.

Then many more.

Many.

You know how it is weeding, you’re looking at your patch o weeds your currently pulling. Not the whole area. Maybe that’s just me. I have so much to weed that I only focus on where I am, not the big picture. That would be disheartening!

After noticing the many ants running around, I did look at the bigger area. Good thing I had because they were EVERYWHERE! All around me, on me, in the weeds and under the bark.

Everywhere!

So I stood up.

Nothing like sitting in a nest o’ ants that you’ve just dug up.

Thankfully these were carpenter ants. Not fire ants. That would be bad. Carpenters bite, but not right away. They take their time to assess the situation, then when they figure out what is going on you need to move yourself. I was lucky. They didn’t know it was me creating all the havoc.

I stood up and moved to a new patch of weeds for a while. Watching them run around trying to figure out what turned their nest upside down.

Then I went back to it. Sorry guys, these weeds are going.

Until they got all stirred up again, then I moved back to the other patch of weeds. Worked there until they calmed down.

I repeated this process a few times.

I didn’t finish that area. It takes longer when you’re letting ants calm down and really by the fourth intrusion of me, they weren’t calming down very quickly anymore.

Thank goodness they don’t have stingers or the temperament of yellow jackets! I would’ve been in a world of hurt! But I prolly woulda caught on quicker what I was in the middle of.

Truth!

So now you know too how to weed a carpenter ants nest. Dive in until there are many, then move to another area until they calm down. Then go back in. Repeat.

All in all, it’s not so bad. They are pretty calm as far as ants go.

And my yard will look better.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

