Not my daughter and yet…

We are on an adventure! For the past three weeks we’ve been living it! Tonight our adventure changes.

And it’s weird. Even hurts a bit, maybe a silly lot.

Tonight we return Shallen back to school. College type school. She’ll be gone.

Not gone, gone. Just not WITH us.

I am sad.

I will miss her…tons.

Having her live with us for this brief time has been a wonderful, amazing and eye opening tome. She is my first ‘teen’, and that is a trip!

The worry’s I had when she was out late in the night. That inkling of imagined fears. Things prolly not going to happen but COULD. (None came to pass-whew!)

Let’s just say I breathed easier when she got home.

She is not my daughter by blood or marriage, but she certainly found her way into my heart and feels just like one.

We are all going to miss her. So much.

She is off to follow her own adventure of college, growing and becoming. I am so excited for her!!! Amazing things lie ahead! She is going to be awesome!

So we say goodbye, but not for long, or ever.

There will always be care packages to send, emails to write and visits too. (She is not THAT far away, small blessings!) I just hope she knows how much she is loved. How much a part of our family she has become.

I will always leave my door open to her…always.

I mean that Shallen. With all my heart.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
Image | This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

