Family Time Protection

Have I told you how much I love my family?

Well I do, with all my heart.

I am a very selfish mommy! If there is no school, we are going to spend that time together. If it’s summer we’re gonna do, play and be together. On weekends during the school year, you got it, we are together.

Now not ALL the time. My kids have healthy friendships and go off on outings without us tagging along, and we have our excursions away from the kidlets on occasion too. It’s a healthy balance. I’m not stupid, just crazy.

But mostly we try to be together.

Sometimes we have a planned outing, other times it’s a spontaneous surprise but we always make sure we have time to BE together. Even if it’s just hanging out in the house.

We play games, or watch a show, or clean or cook together. I admit, cleaning is NOT their favorite family time activity. I’m hoping it will grow on them in time…

It is so important to protect this. It takes effort. Sometimes it takes planning and maybe even saying no to another someone’s this and that party, outing, movie, something and this can be hard to do.

So not the ‘American’ way.

I have been judged by some for not putting my kids into soccer, baseball, dance, gymnastics, cheer, camp, etc…I have been given the quizzical “what is your deal” stare down when we choose to not have our kids in every summer camp imaginable. Folks have looked at me like I’m two slices short of a loaf when I say to them, “No, we are having family night.”

I have to say, that I thinkering this is vital to our children’s EVERYTHING. Down time is essential, activity is essential but the most solid essentiality there can ever be is Family Time.

I guess that’s my opinion, but I’m 100% committed to it.

Family Time is so immeasurably priceless. It so very important.

It gives my kids a foundation. A safe haven. It gives them a place.

The best part is, it gives them laughter, joy and balance to face the world and what may come.

Family Time, it’s what for dinner.

(I couldn’t resist! Did you hear Sam Elliot’s voice too?)

Seriously, I can’t imagine parenting decently without giving my children this gift. I know that they know, without doubt, they are loved and wanted.

I admit it, I like to be around my kids. Let’s hope that’s a two way street!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family, General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

