Dictionaries are dictionaries, even if they’re for a student.

My daughter came home with an Un-Birthday present from a ‘stranger’ yesterday. (No worries, one was given to all the students from a district approved organization).

It was a Student Dictionary.

This morning she was reading it and came to me and asked:

“Mom, if this is a ‘student’ dictionary then WHY are the words ‘sex’ and ‘naked’ in it?”

She was embarrassingly mortified.

There is a heightened awareness in our household in regards to puberty and what goes on in the big, wide world. Being that we have a pre-teen and a pre-tween topics of conversation have run the gamut and back. Keeps it interesting enough, I’ll say!

Just last week I was censored from saying the word ‘sexy’ in regards to my laptop and her new look. What with her new Gela Skin on and all, she is! I only spoke the truth. (pics and post to come).

Apparently, ‘sexy’ is not a word my youngin is comfy with so she ‘shushed’ me from continued use. Still the curiosity was there and she had to check to see if it was in her new dictionary.

This morning I gave the, a dictionary is a dictionary, speech. Who knew that conversation was even a part of growing up? Bet your so jealous your turn hasn’t come for that one!

I did not tell her the other possible words her ‘student dictionary’ may hold. Why add to the drama confusion? If she keeps reading it every day, she’ll stumble upon them on her own. Then we’ll have the ‘dictionary’ talk again and prolly some really interesting convo’s…

Won’t that be some fun days ahead!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

