Helping others.

Can be so…

-hard

-difficult

-unwanted

-tricky

-sad

-happy

-wonderful

-exquisite!

-so many things.

We are coming into the season of helping others. Although why it’s a season is beyond me. Shouldn’t we help as much as we can, all the time?

Yes. (And No.) (Please, please make safe choices and help only when there is no harm to be done.)

We are entering the season of doing, helping, giving to others. This is my favorite season, the holidays. I love the time spent with family, friends, shopping, baking and laughing.

And my heart is breaking. Because this time, this season is different.

I can not help those I want to. I am not in position to give the help I want to give.

Everyone is struggling, even me. And I have a job.

Ugh, the times are tough. Not tough enough for me to complain about, not for us. I just am feeling the crunch of ‘less’. We cannot go buy a PS3 off the giving tree this year. We cannot get that brand new beautiful bike to put in the Salvation Army bin. We just can’t make it work.

Our own, will also be receiving less, but they, and we, will be ok with that. We’re tough. But to lose our favorite holiday tradition is painful.

Each year we go collect one boy and one girl from the Giving Tree and shop for as much off their lists as we can possibly get. But this year, oh, we do not have that kind of cash. And I hate it.

I tell my children not to use that word: hate. It is so strong, so horrible. Our culture banters it around like it’s nothing. But it is something and we try not to use it so much. In this case, I deem it appropriate. I hate not having extra money to spend on strangers.

Thankfully, we have time to get creative. We can figure out something else. Maybe just chose one name, or not buy the whole list from two. Maybe we find a local shelter and give our time this year.

I know we can find a solution and still give. Because that is what my heart loves to do. Give.

If you have any suggestions on how we can give this year, please share them with me. Until then, you’ll see me getting creative with the family!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

