Bake-A-Thon

Now some gals do bake-a-thons for a fundraiser.

Some do once-a-month cooking groups where everyone brings 20 pounds of the same ingredient and leaves with twenty dishes for the freezer. I think I would love to give one of those a try, but the recipes usually do not interest my families palate.

Me, how do I do a bake-a-thon?

Every couple of months I set aside a day of non-stop cooking.

I do mean the whole day.

I cook from scratch you see and most nights we get by. It’s the lunches that suffer. There are only so many PB&J’s you can eat in a row. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some PB&J, but everyday? When I was younger, sure, but not now.

*Did I just call myself old?

I take a day here and there and put up some yummy dishes for the freezer. This way, there is some yummy lunch choices and a few quick dinners too.

A typical bake-a-thon day could include:
Turkey/Chicken/Beef pot pies
Piroshkis
Pork Dumplings and Spring Rolls
Cookies
Soup/Chili
Shepherds Pie

I make a lot, especially if it’s something we all love, in hopes that it last throughout the school year.

Now I try to do this bake-a-thon in August so that I’m ready for the work year…but this year, um, yeah that didn’t happen.

I told myself, oh the kids go back 3 whole days before I start work so I can squeeze it in then.

Nope. Two different schools with two different schedules, supplies, requirements and all of us needed all three days plus to acclimate.

Here is it the end of October and there is still an empty freezer.

So today is the day.

I will be in the kitchen until the sun sets, or off to Lakewood to buy a new chinchilla cage…but prolly the kitchen.

If you need me, I’ll be sauteing, kneading, chopping, stirring and yes, baking.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

