October is Non-GMO Month-Hurray!!!

If you have read my blog, you know I’m a ‘greenie’. I buy the organic when I can. I recycle, I reduced and I totally re-use.

If you have not read my blog, well now you know.

All of that also equals that I am a Non-GMO supporter. I do not agree with GMO or hormones or artificial dyes. We should eat healthier and I don’t mean the 9-grain vs the white bread. I mean no fake stuff, no additives, no preservatives. Our children and grandchildren are one hudred-million-trillion-billion percent worth it.

Totally.

That brings me to October: it’s Non-GMO Month!!! Woohooo!

What is a GMO you ask? It’s an acronym for Genetically Modified Organism. When we first started playing with our food, it was for a good cause. Unfortunately, nature being herself, some modified foods went haywire and left us in a state of uh-oh! And man being man has continued to meddle trying to fix it, but it’s only getting it worse, not better.

But the bigger kicker in all this mess is the companies DON’T have to tell US their packaged food is a GM food.

What the what!?!

They don’t have to let us know that we are eating something…something…other.

They don’t have to tell us, this food is not normal. (I’d say natural but that has its own crazy attached).

They don’t have to tell us that if you eat this product, you are eating something that was changed from one thing into another.

Eep!

Now let me back up just a tad. Food changes itself through the years, it modifies. I am totally cool with that. I believe in evolution. I can see it. I don’t agree with us going in there and messing with the DNA. We get too much wrong. When it’s on this huge a level, our world wide foods, I don’t agree with the risk.

Corn for instance…do you enjoy corn? Me too! It’s gonna suck when it’s gone. Don’t belive me? That’s ok, you don’t have to. But many biologists agree, corn is on its last days. It’ll be years, but they’ll pass by. If we can’t fix what we’ve done, corn will be no more. That won’t just upset the world food, but do you know how many things are made from corn? It’s mind-staggering!

Not all is lost! We have our choice and our voice! You can make a difference and you can demand to be informed! We can tell the FDA that we want to know if that food, right there on the grocery shelf is a GM food. Join the Just Label It: We Have a Right To Know campaign. Let the FDA understand that you want to know what you are eating. Just Label It makes it easy for us! They have a form letter that all you need to do is sign here, or you can write your own.

You’re done.

With a one, two, click and send, your voice will be heard.

How cool is that?

I love it. I love that we have choices. I’m big on choices! But currently I do not have a choice in knowing exactly what is in that package. You don’t either. I don’t like that. Not for me. Not for my kids. Not for you.

I want you to do this because I love you. You are special and beautiful and you should have the choice to know what you are putting into your body. And your children deserve no less.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October is Non-GMO Month-Hurray!!!

  1. Totally agree, girl! I’m going to click on that link as soon as I post this comment.

Leave a Reply

