Ever had “That” kind of day?

Recently I got to work a recess shift, which I loved!, but something happened that can only sum up how some days go. Here’s the story:

A student found a grasshopper which was a big hit! Pretty much everyone wanted to see, touch, hold this grasshopper. No harm done, they were being very, very careful.

Time was passing and the bell was due to ring so I told the student it was time to let it go. The student wanted to ‘keep’ this little grasshopper, in a plastic bag left over from lunch, until arriving at home where the grasshopper would have a terrarium home. I said no and to let it go.

The student let go the grasshopper so it could go on about its life in its natural home.

I kid you not, at one hop away another student came running by and stepped directly on the newly freed bug. They did not know and kept on running.

The look on the faces of the ones who had held, touched and watched the grasshopper was touching. In one moment they were awed by a bug, in the next they were full of shocked surprise.

No time to be sad, acceptance came quickly and off to line up they all went.

Yup, one of those kinds of days. One moment you are free, the next you are squished flat.

I am feeling the squish these days. I can see freedom, but someone or something always seems to get ahold of me and if I try to hop away…pressure of ‘doing’ puts on the squeeze.

Thankfully, I have not been as poorly off as that grasshopper. I live on to hop another day.

Photo cred to: idratherbewriting.com

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

