I Can(‘t) Do It All

I am perfection walking.

Really I am. Despite my gimpy limp and excellent ability to fall, trip or walk into things, I am perfect. A perfect flaw. But I’m ok with that. And gosh darn it, people like me!

These past few weeks Life has decided to Be. All that comes with it has arrived. The Ups and the Downs. I was expecting both, just not so much of the Stuff that came with it. And the timing…oh Life has never got it’s times right.

The house has suffered the most. The dishes and laundry have also had their fair share of neglect as well.

I need help from the family members to pitch in. I NEED them ALL to just Do It. *Hey family, lets pretend we’re Nike!*

Uh…yeaya…not so much.

I finally put my foot down. Or a sign as the case may be. This is now at the top of the stairs:

We have a two-story home and apparently when it comes time to put something away downstairs, no one can accomplish this task. It has taken much Herculian effort to get anyone to carry stuff down. I am constantly nagging reminding them.

The games are all down there and both children walk down our stairs multiple times a day with OUT carrying a single thing. Instead stuff is just put at the top, hopelessly waiting for someone to pick it up and put it away properly. The ‘pile’ grows until it becomes a tripping hazard.

I’m not kidding.

So I made a sign. With our rainbow of Sharpie markers. Big, bold, gets the point across and I taped that puppy to the top stair. Look how beautiful my art capabilities are:

Ok so it’s not a da Vinci, but I did my best work in a two-minute span of time. The goal is to get the message out that the ‘pile’ needs tending to and it’s not ‘Moms’ job.

So how’s it working so far? Not bad. I think it IS working! Nothing has been put at the top of the stairs for four whole days now!

I could be on to something…Sharpie signs are totally the Vogue decorating trend now.

Right?…

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Can(‘t) Do It All

  1. Tink says:

    Sharpies and extra sticky post it (though FPU may not include those any more) rawk the communication world!

Leave a Reply

