We Walked…

…my little girl and I.

Three miles round trip. Give or take a few yards.

It was such a nice, lovely day and that caramel sundae was calling my name.

We didn’t have a car though.

So I asked her if she wanted to walk to town and back. She said yes.

I am so happy, it was a great walk!

On the way, we picked some blackberries and talked about all the little individual bumps on a blackberry. We sampled different bushes and she ate enough to stain her teeth that purple color only blackberries can give.

Then we stopped to pick an apple from the ancient apple trees in the parking lot. I must say, I love that there are two, old, beautiful apple trees just sitting there in the middle of a parking lot. No one really knows who they belong to, but no one comes to pick the apples. Folks come from around to pick them and it seems the owners don’t really mind. It’s like they are community apple trees. That’s kinda special, and I love it.

We made it to our destination and enjoyed the $1 menu for $2.18.

Then we went to our local grocery store because that dollar chicken sandwich has got some spicy kick for a youngin! We bought some Colby jack cheese to cut the burn.

We sat on the bench in front of a local coffee shop and ate slice after slice of Colby jack. It was delicious! We even shared a few slices with our pup, Kajika. Then we began our walk home.

It got dark super fast! I wasn’t quite prepared for that. We called our hero the Daddy on my cell. He had taken our son to Seattle for a special day and thankfully they were on their way home, close to us. He would pick us up in about 10 minutes. We kept walking as we were along the road, with nowhere to really go.

When we made it to our bus stop and her feet were ‘just hurting so bad’, we decided to sit down and wait. It couldn’t be that much longer until the boys arrived.

We prayed, we talked and played some Fruit Ninja on my phone. Soon enough hero Daddy was there. We hopped into the car and headed the rest of the way home in comfort.

It was an amazing way to end our day. I one proud momma for that little girl! She had a sleep over the night before, swam in a pool this morning, cleaned her room and went on a 3 mile walk! Busy day for a little one and she did stellar!!!

Way to go Love!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family, General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

