Jelly!

I love the abundant harvest at the end of summer.

To be sure, I do not enjoy the end of summer itself. Where I live, we need that sun to dry out! I am always just a smidge sad to see the warm rays of the sun and the sun itself take its leave of us.

I console myself with…

JELLY!

I make it myself and this year, I hope I have made enough to last us the entire school year! I failed this past school year, and it was not pretty.

Ok that might be some added drama…we survived and bought store bought jelly. It just wasn’t the same.

So this year, I’ve made LOTS of jelly!

~ One batch of Nectarine with Peach.

~ One batch of Peach.

~ Two batches of Blackberry, and yes I do make jelly as in no seeds. It takes an extra day but oh is it worth it!

I have enough blackberry juice frozen for two more batches of jelly, but I’ve ran out of sugar and the Costco run isn’t for another week…that juice won’t keep so into the freezer for now.

I am so excited to sink my teeth into that first PB&J sandwhich of the school year! Only one problem…which jelly do we open first?

Organic fruit really does make my jelly taste better.

These make it so much easier!

One for the fruit, one for the jars.

Yes I make it the old fashioned way. Worth it. Totally.

Cooling. Setting. Anticipating...

Bonus! This bit didn't fit in any jars...I made biscuits and we ate them with this jelly that very night.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

