A Sad Girl, some tree sap, The Wizard of Oz and scissors…

Hello my friends.

How was your day today?

I am guessing it went a little better than my L’il k’s…but maybe not. Because in the end, she was happy again.

What made her sad?

The doings of a scissor.

This is the story…

Yesterday she was out climbing trees, building forts, doing those things that kids should do in the summer time. She was having a blast. But yesterday she did not understand the all the doings of sap.

A little tree sap.

From yesterday.

In her hair.

Yup. Thats my girl!

I had her soak in the tub and I scrubbed her hair well. I told her I would help her get it out but to go ahead and start brushing the hair she could while I made a phone call.

I hung up and she walked out of the bathroom with a ‘look’ on her face, her hands on top of her head. I thought she’d hit it. I thought she was hurt.

She burst into tears. I asked her what was wrong. She took her hands down and cried so hard I couldn’t understand her.

I saw.

I knew.

She didn’t believe I could get the sap out. She figured scissors would do the trick. Which they did, but apparently she forgot the doings of scissors too.

Here’s a closer look

That was one sad girl!

She doesn’t want you to see her face

(Guess I’m now officially a ‘Mom-Blogger’. Oh honey, let me take a picture for my blog…please…)

How did we get that frown turned upside down?

We chatted. Like girls do. I told her stories of when she was born. How she had a head full of hair. It just stuck straight up and out. We also chatted that it’s ok, hair grows. And that Daddy wouldn’t be mad at her, (he wasn’t but that took a long time and a phone call to prove). We also talked about portraits and the cute pink hat she owns…or the houndstooth one…or even none at all because it’s just hair, and it might become the new fashion trend…

…but ask your momma first.

Then I combed out the rest of the sap and tangles. There were more tears. Mostly because what’s done is done and getting acquainted with the ‘new you’ takes some time…

…and ice cream.

We ate some lunch then headed for an ice cream sundae. Almost everything is better with a sundae, even short, spikey hair.

Upon returning, she wanted to watch a movie and I let her pick. She chose The Wizard Of Oz, it’s the first time she’s seen it all the way through. When it ended she smiled a huge smile and said it was the best movie ever.

Ice cream, Oz, love and time are all it takes to get a sad girl happy again.

Now about those pictures…how quickly does hair grow?

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Sad Girl, some tree sap, The Wizard of Oz and scissors…

  1. Michelle W says:

    Ice cream seems to fix everything! Well done, Mama.
    Has she ever thought of getting a short hair cut? That might look cute!

  2. Tanya says:

    Baretts (sp?) and or a touch of hair gel. It’ll help mask the short spot. And if not, it’s a symbol of where she was in her life at this age. The first time she ever cut her hair…

  3. Oh Sheila! Bless BOTH your hearts! And good for you – ice cream, Oz… all is right with the world 🙂

Leave a Reply

