Arachnid Bites

We are apparently upsetting our 8-legged friends lately.

Three children in four days have been bitten six times.

Maybe more. There is still a child I haven’t had a chance to talk with her mom since she’s over for that play-date here…

I am sure these are not Brown Recluse bites, we are past the 24 hour mark. And I know they are not Black Widow and certainly not Hobo. All three of those beauties would have us in the hospital in a few short hours…or minutes.

I am not however ruling out Wolf Spiders though…or false Black Widow or those brown ones everyone calls the Recluse, but are not. Come to think of it, if it’s a Wolf Spider, it had to be a young one. The bite holes are too close together and too small to be an adults…

Do I know too much about arachnids? No, not really. I just know what I know because I love them! I’ve learned a few things about them over the years. They get such a bad wrap.

Anyway…I digress…

These bites are HUGE, HOT and painful to touch. They have created massive swelling and redness.

They did itch, but now they hurt to touch my girl is ignoring the need to scratch.

Because of the swelling we are just beginning to see the split of skin over one bite. The other are following in the same pattern.

I think tomorrow we will have weeping.

From the bites as well as from the girl.

She is not thrilled about this.

One forearm looks like Popeye’s forearm.

I’m not joking.

But we did joke that she needs more spinach to get the other arm to match…

It wasn’t too funny for her.

I think I’ll do a little research on the bites of local spiders that like to live in the woods. I know that is where they are getting bit. The are digging to the “middle of the Earth” through the dirt pile in the woods. Digging also includes, swinging from the nearby trees, rolling in dirt pile and burying each other in it too. Not to mention laying in it for a ‘nap’. Perfect crimes to upset a spider and scare it enough to give you a warning bite or two…or three…

Just need to know if we’ll need to head to see the doctor. I think not. It’s been close to 30 hours now, if it had been a venomous one, we’d know it by now. I’m pretty sure she’s going to be fine, a little un-comfy for a bit, but fine in the end.

Maybe I’ll have to keep them out of their play place of dirt…

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family, General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Arachnid Bites

  1. Nadine Green says:

    I had a bite on my leg once in middle school… during the summer… never saw what got me, but golly did my leg swell, as the swelling continued, my mom ended up taking me to prompt care… doc said it could have been an allergic reaction or an infection. I *think* he put me on antibiotics… (long time ago)… better safe than sorry… it would be nice to know what it was, but the swelling seems excessive, and would be enough to get me in to see the doc. Hope everyone sleeps well in spite of the owies…. 😦 -Nadine

Leave a Reply

