The Question! I got THE Question!

Ok so we are parents. We try to be the best parents we can be.

We have been telling the kidlets this mantra:

You can ask us anything about anything. Anytime, anywhere. Anything.

We want that open relationship with them. We want them to feel comfortable talking to us about anything. Be it the weather, music or even…*gasp* sex and drugs and so on. We want to have that ability to talk about anything and have them talk about anything WITH us.

So far we’ve been doing a good job fostering that style of relationship.

Tonite at dinner the girl and I are the only two at the table as the boy was at a friends and the Daddy was chilling in the bedroom. Usually we eat dinner together but once in a while, we don’t.

So the youngest and I are sitting there enjoying a fabulous meal. Just her and I, a perfect time for some ‘girl chat’ if ever there was one. She looks at me in all seriousness and says:

Hey Mom you know how you say I can ask you anything, anywhere?

Me: Yes. (and I am thinking this is gonna be interesting! Just the two of us girls…here comes a QUESTION!)

Her: Well I can’t.

Me: (uh-oh, we’ve failed!!! She isn’t comfy…what to do, what to do?? Breathe, be patient, let her lead this convo and see what’s going on.) Sure you can.

Her: No. I mean, like, if we’re at a fancy restaurant and EVERYONE is there we like, can’t.

Me: Oh (WHEW! *wipes sweat off brow, haven’t failed yet*). Well sure, there are better times than others, but if it’s really important it would be ok.

Her: Ok. But I could probably wait until we’re home.

Me: Sure.

Pause…

Her: So Mom…

(oh…here it comes…the REAL Question!)

Her: I have a question.

Me: Mm-hmm…

Her: *takes deep breath*, pauses then says: What are







cockroaches?

Me: *brain crashes into self whilst switching gears in a heart beat*, *holds breath so as not to laugh out-loud and spoil the moment*. Because she is VERY serious about this. Very. This is important stuff!

Me: It’s a beetle.

Her still in very serious mode: Are beetles insects?

Me: Yes they are.

Her still quite serious: Are bugs insects?

Me: Yes.

Her: Oh. So cockroaches are insects. Ok.

Me: Yup, they are.

Her: Moves on to other convo-the types of carrots from the grocery store…

Me: Bubbling over in mirth but not showing it because of how serious she was. You might have had to have ‘been there’ or here as the case may be. But oh my! She was SO serious. So. Much.

So there it is…The Question!

Yup-What are cockroaches and bugs and insects.

Not about puberty or relationships or God.

Bugs.

Yup.

The important stuff in life.

I hope I do just as well, and better, when the next Question comes my way.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family, Hahahaha. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Question! I got THE Question!

  1. Michelle W says:

    Oh good for you!! When I got “the question” I was visibly sweating.
    Bugs are better! LOL

Leave a Reply

