Bulk Shopping-A curse or a blessing?

I have a question. For you my Sweet Peeps,

WHAT do you DO with the super-massive sized box o food you bought at your local super store that you thought would be good but turned out…well, not?

I love shopping at my local mega-warehouse store, it’s the cheapest way to buy milk, butter and various other things. But it’s not always the best way to buy something you’ve never tried before. I should have learned my lesson by now!

I have a GI-Normous box of Pork Spring Rolls with sweet and sour sauce that is currently missing 5 rolls. Half of one is in my belly. The other 3 are sitting on the pan waiting for the Hubby to give it a try and the last one was divided between the kidlets for a taste test.

We tasted.

We tested.

The result from the three of us is…

Bleck!

Hubby gets to weigh in upon arrival from work. I’m pretty sure he will concur.

They put the sweet and sour INSIDE the pork roll.

INSIDE.

Whu?

Now I don’t mind a occassional dip into the sweetness that is the sour sauce, but on every bite? On every roll? No thank you.

Not to mention that the rest of the components of said rolls are also a fail.

So we now have this gigantic box of pork rolls sitting in our freezer.

Opened.

Can’t donate it to the food bank now due to that fact.

We ain’t gonna eat it.

I certainly will not buy them again.

Alas, this is not the first time this has happened.

The box of pork rolls is currently sitting on top of a box of burritos that were also an epic fail.

So what do you DO with them?

I mean, we’re just not gonna eat them.

Can’t serve to a dinner party because it would look really odd if only the guests were noshing on them while we eat something else. Mrs. Manners may roll over in her grave should we attempt such a thing.

So what do you do with those massive bulk buys from those warehouse stores of foods that just don’t quite make the grade table?

Anyone hungry enough to want to come take these off my hands? Free to the first person who wants em! Heck I might even deliver!

Who has bottomless pits teens that need some free food to fill their bellies? Pork rolls and burritos = teen snack bliss!

Please?

I hate to through them away…that just sounds wasteful…

Anyone?

Please…

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bulk Shopping-A curse or a blessing?

  1. Tanya says:

    I was going to say me me me but you said the sauce is inside?? The ones I tried were individually wrapped and SO yummy! Hopefully you find a hungry teen!

  2. Elaine Wrightson says:

    Just talked to Jeanine, she has Jaiden, Kyra and Kyra’s friend at her house so she wants the stuff!

Leave a Reply

