4th of July-Day 2

This is a continuation of an earlier post. If you haven’t read it and would like to here is the link.

As I said, our holiday usually stretches out over a few days, each year varies but it is always longer than just one day. This is how our Day 2 of the 4th went…

Day 2 was on Sunday this year, a rainy wet Sunday. Should I be surprised? No. Was I? Not exactly…it rained BUCKETS that morning! That surprised me the buckets part, but only here, out at my Dad’s it sprinkled. which is a good thing! Mortars do not fly well or ignite when wet. Dry mortars are best!

The kidlets and I got up and went to church, which was excellent! Then we headed back home and began loading the car. I was impressed! I loaded up all the groceries and goodies I had been baking, into bags then set them on the porch to be put in the car and when I went to put on my shoes the kids had done that for me! They loaded it all up! It was very nice! Last to be loaded was our sweet pup, Kajika. She does fine with the 4th now. When she was younger not so much, we had to tranquillize her. Now as long as she is in the house with Grandma she does fine. Yay!

So loaded and ready to head out, off we went.

Upon arriving at my Dad’s, the fun and some work begins. Mostly its relaxing time on Day 2. The food has been cooked and maybe has a little prep work, but mostly it’s sit around and chat time. Funny stories, laughter, a movie or two, just hanging out. We take crafty projects to work on. Here my sister is sharing her beads with all the nieces and nephews:

Teaching the kidlets how to make necklaces.

Well at least for us…the boys…they are not so lucky. It is work, work, work for them. The show must be ‘set’ and wired. It takes a long, long time and it’s hard, hot work. They didn’t mind the drizzle in the morning, it kept the day cool. By the afternoon they got hot and still had to keep going. Any good show requires some serious set up time, preparation, thought and execution.

Maybe I shouldn’t use the word, ‘execution’, for pyrotechnics…

The middle of the pit. Only trained Pyros allowed (and sometimes their wives)


The pit is HUGE! This is still not the whole thing!


Racks, racks and more racks...of mortars!


Worker Bees! Rain or shine, every year they set this up so we can enjoy something special!


That is my Dad standing there and he is 6'2"!

All of these photos are pre-show. This is what they do for HOURS prior to launch time, AND they have been building all of this for months! I told you in Part 1 that my Hubby, Dad and Nephew begin months in advance…this is why!

Eventually we do see them. Sometime on the 4th all the work gets done and they come in to eat and rest up. We make sure there are plenty of food choices that are quick, filling and easy. No fuss, no muss, those boys are hungry!

…to be continued…next up…The Big Boom!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 4th of July-Day 2

  1. Pingback: 4th of July-Day 3 | Sheila's Thinkerings

  2. Pingback: 4th of July-Day 4 | Sheila's Thinkerings

Leave a Reply

