I Heart Summer and I Am Gonna Say YES!

I know that today was kinda lame on the weather scale, gray, cloudy and cool. But it’s still summery-ish-ly and I’ll take it! Gray yes, but that just means we skipped the sunscreen and went outside anyway!

My yard is growing the weeds like crazy! I did take pics today, are you proud of me? I hear pics are an important part of a blog, I am just lame in that area. I will try to get better, but really I am just lazy. So feast your eyes on the jungle that is my yard:

This WAS all beauty bark w/ some plantings, now it's more weeds.


Other side of the driveway, more ick. Really icky is the neighbors scotch broom...I wonder if she'd let me take that out for her?


How many dandelions can one yard possibly hold? I am thinkering a quadrillion!


YIKES! At least I got some of the plantings weeded so what I want to grow can.

Weeding aside, the kidlets have been playing their little hearts out! Today we ‘found’ a ginormous kite in the dark corner of the garage. There wasn’t much wind but the kids ‘flew’ it anyway. They had a BLAST doing it to.

I’ve been guilty of ‘no, we’ll take that to the beach and really fly it’, for far too long. It’s a toy. Toys are meant to be played with. If today is the day they want to play with it, who am I to say no? I am so glad I said yes and tied on that string because oh-did they have a blast!


You would think they would've gotten bored, but nope. This lasted for hours!


Who needs wind when you have legs to run, friends to help and laughter filled smiles! That is all it takes to ‘fly’ a kite after all. I am so glad I said yes and tied on that string. It was worth every moment! They all really enjoyed the kite and we even found a second smaller one so two could ‘fly’ at the same time.

I am going to make this a YES! summer! Let them play, let them laugh and let them discover. I am sure I will learn soooo much and all of it will be priceless!

I can’t wait to see what they’ll discover next. I have plenty of weeding to keep me near them, and they have plenty of laughter to keep me weeding!

This might just become the best summer ever!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Heart Summer and I Am Gonna Say YES!

  1. Michelle W says:

    LOVE it. I have no idea why my first reaction is to say “no”. I am working on being a YES Mom too! Fabulous post! Pictures make it great!!

  2. Brandy says:

    Sheila, your yard does not look as you picture it, your HOME is warm and inviting !!! your YARD is fun and enjoyable!!! and your goats, well I would love to take them home with me 🙂 My girl LOVES your home and she is looking forward to another fun day at your home…..

Leave a Reply

