Irritably Grumpy

Hello and Morning to you.

Not good morning, just morning.

Not that it’s a bad morning, just that I am grumpy today.

And irritable.

The itching is driving me bonkers! What itching you ask? This itching. I am trying SO HARD to NOT itch and there are times that I fail. Mostly I am not itching, but when I fail, I fail big. Gah!

The grumpy comes from being woken by the slam of a door at 10:30 last night. Followed by catching and re-penning two bad billy goats. In the dark.

I am usually still up around 10, but last night I had that exhaustion feeling. I was wiped out. So. Very. Tired. I went to bed at 8:30. I’m not kidding. I know! That is UNHEARD of for me. But I did. Stick a fork in me, I was done. Really.

Now it takes me anywhere from 15 minutes to 2 hours to fall asleep. My lovely friend Tanya says that’s because I’m always on “Mommy Brain”. She’s prolly right cos the norm for getting to sleep is closer to the 2 hour mark. I have to be really exhausted to fall asleep in 15 minutes. I’ve done it before, but that is not usually the case. Last night, though I was out in probably about 45 minutes. Until that slam of the door. It woke and irritated me. It was the second door slam of the evening.

I do not like slamming doors. I do not like hearing slamming doors. If I ever do a list of Peeves, that should be on there.

Top it off with the fact I had to get up, get dressed and go catch billies. Yeah, not a good combo.

If I have a break in my sleep then there will be more breaks in the sleep. Last night was true to form. 10:30 awoken. 1:30, 4:30 and 5:30. Woken for reason and for none, just POP! Wakey Time! Wait, it’s only 1:30 I can go back to sleep. POP! Oh wait it’s only 4:30, I have two hours left. POP! Oh man-it’s 5:30, might as well start my day. I don’t know why I do that, but I do. Just how my body/brain works. If I am woken once, it won’t be the last.

Thanks to a wonderful evening of broken sleep I am irritably grumpy today. I’ll snap out of it for work, because they are not to blame and I love my job. Kids can always bring a smile to your face and lift you out of a funk.

Maybe I’ll go in early, could use the lifting process to begin right now. I don’t like being grumpy or irritable. It makes me mad which makes me grumpy. Then I get irritable. Then I get mad…

I’m seeing a pattern here…

Yup, I best get to some smiles and quick! I don’t want this whole day to be ruined. The night may have, but I can choose differently for the day! Yay!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Irritably Grumpy

  1. Tanya says:

    Some days are just like that! So are some nights. I’m feeling an 8:30 bedtime in my immediate future – if I make it that long. Trying to play on the inernet to at least make it to 8! Wanted to crawl into bed at 6! But this is your blog, not mine. 🙂 Billy goats gruff better behave or there will be Coco stew sooner, rather than later!

Leave a Reply

