A Milestone has been reached!

Our family L O V E S popcorn. You have no idea. We eat it multi-nightly. Is that a phrase? Dunno, but I just made it one. Anywho, we loves our popcorn. Buttery, salty, crunchy goodness. Toss in some Milk Duds and it’s a winning combination!

We make our popcorn a variety of ways:

Microwave, that is our least favorite. It’s ok, but it’s not the greatest. It’ll do in a pinch.

Then we have an air popper, and that does a wonderful job. We also enjoy that the kidlets can use the air popper anytime to whip up a batch or two. Ok it’s two, always it’s two. There are four of us and sometimes more, plus the dog and cat, (yes even our cat likes popcorn!), so multi-batches are a must when popcorn is made. But back to the air popper-it’s safe enough for the kids to use on their own. They can melt the butter in the microwave and voila-instant snack!

The third way we make our popcorn is by old-fashioned oil pop style. We have an old, old pressure cooker pot. Now don’t freak out, the lid to this pressure cooker is not used in the process. We don’t want to have an explosion or anything. That lid is long, long gone so there is no chance of any mistakes. What we do use as the ‘lid’ is an old Pioneer Pies pie tin. It fits perfectly, does not create a solid seal (gotta let out that steam or you’ll get mushy popcorn), is light weight and so easy to remove, hold and replace. This is an important step in oil popping, you gotta shake those kernels to the bottom and get the popped kernels out so they don’t burn or squish each other. Lift pan, remove lid, tip to spill the popped kernels into a bowl is a process repeated multiple times during popping. The lid is key! Oil pop is by far and away our favorite style of popcorn! So tasty! Pour in the oil, turn that burner to High and pop to hearts content! Sprinkle on the salt and top with liberal amounts of butter. Yummy!

Now it’s a no-brainer that oil popping can be dangerous, hot burner + oil = danger, so the kidlets are not allowed to make this style themselves. It has always been Daddy or Mommy’s job. Not anymore! I was out at a meeting and upon my arrival home I was greeted by my son, at the door, very proudly announcing that HE, yes HE, made popcorn tonite. I said YES!, it’s a nice way to come home. Then he said OIL POPPED, I made OIL POPPED on the STOVE! I was then all like: Whoa! You did?!? That is amazing!!!

Daddy supervised, instructed and monitored closely. Success! No burns on the house or the boy! A new milestone has been reached! Daddy is so smart! The pride my son had on his face when he told me his accomplishment was priceless! Absolutely priceless! He is growing up and I get to watch him. I’m telling ya, it’s a wonderful, extraordinary thing!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I am going to enjoy some specially made oil popped popcorn…

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

