How many times…

…do I have to repeat myself to get the kids to do what needs to be done?

This seems to be a theme today. My girlfriend even made a status update on FaceBook about this issue. Which is currently up to 7 comments in a short time!

That actually makes me feel kinda relieved. I am NOT the only Mom out there who has to repeat, repeat and repeat again. This is a common occurence in other households too. I’m not the only one, whew!

Seriously though, you know they heard me the first time. I know they heard me the first time. THEY know they heard me the first time. Why does it take till the umpteenth time for them to just do it?!?

Sometimes that is really frustrating! Other times it’s funny.

Maybe that is my problem in a nut shell. I am un-consistent in the style of my repeating-ness.

Except when I repeat the same thing over and over and over again.

That is totally consistent.

Eventually they do the job asked of them. Sometimes in tears, sometimes in laughter. The job gets ‘consistently’ done. Problem is I usually want it done the first time I ask.

Is that too much to ask?

For their growing minds, yup. I hear there’s even a scientific study on the developing brain. They really do need to hear it a few times before it registers what you are asking. I also understand with the boys, this gets worse in the early teen years.

Something to look forward too?…Yes. I’ll have to go with yes, or I’ll lose my mind. Because I have one that will be there soon enough. So I’ll choose yes, make it something to look forward too.

Looks like repetition will be a staple. Might as well keep it to the laughing style as much as we can so we can muddle our way through.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

