Art Class

I had the most excellent day at work today. I love my job! I get to work with kidlets! All. Day. Long. No two days are ever the same, each one is busy and they go by so fast! I love it!

Today I had the joy and pleasure of attending Art with one of the classes I work with. They were drawing ocean scenes with crayon to be painted over with very thin tempura paint. Have you seen one of these classics? They are so awesome! The kids fill the page with what they would see in the ocean. There were sea stars, jelly fish, sharks, seaweed and a mermaid or two! Love their little minds!

Some of the kids were stuck on what else to add to their drawing. No worries, a few other kids piped right up with some suggestions like crabs, rocks and whales. I said oooh, whales are a great idea! One little one looked at me and said: “Whales are even bigger than you!”

I smiled and said: “Yes they are!”

Then I paused…and in my brain I said: “Was I just called fat?”

But I let it go. I’m sure no harm was meant, just comparison. We totally do comparisons in class, it’s natural for their minds to work like that. I’m sure she thought they were ‘taller’ than I am. Yeah, taller. Let’s go with that!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

