DrizTasia, that’s me

Oh the drama in our house tonite! My oh my!

There have been tears, beggings, pleadings and more tears.

I made the children do their chores.

That is not cause for tears and drama.

What caused all that was I made them do their chores right. Oh yes. I did.

It took my daughter three tries to vacuum the hallway. It took my son five times to wash one pot.

The agony.

For them.

For me.

But it’s time they learn this stuff. I think I may have waited too long.

I heard lots of ‘why’ and many grunts, groans and moans. I told them that I was going to be tougher than Cinderella’s step sisters, Drizella and Anastasia. They’ve just gotta learn how to clean well. Very well. One day they’ll be on their own in this wide world and they need to be capable, caring and competent.

No more half done chores. No more eeking out of doing them all together. No more of me ‘doing it for them’.

Nope I have a new name when it’s chore time. You can call me DrizTasia, cos I’m getting tough on the kidlets now.

Are my standards high? Yes. Is that good for them? To a point, yes. Will I ogre them to death? No, I won’t exasperate them. But I will raise my expectations and teach them how to be more responsible, better cleaners and toughen their skins just a bit.

In the real world, it won’t be easy or nice. They will have to fight and I want them to have a fair shot.

Because I love them to the ends of the Earth and back. So DrizTasia

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

