Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day to all the Mommies, Moms, Mommas, Mothers, Ma’s and Grandma’s out there! You can never be thanked enough for what you have done, given and are. I love each and every one of you in a special way!

I am blessed to call myself a member of your ranks. Well not Grandma…not yet anyway…

My day was full of awesome! There is nothing more precious than the gifts your children give you. I love the school project ones, they hold a special corner in my heart and this years were no let down! My daughter made a ceramic owl for me. I can’t wait to see it hanging from one of my windows, I just have to decide which one. A window where I get to enjoy and display it but one where it won’t be knocked about and broken. My owl came with an original poem written especially for me:

Have a Happy Mother’s Day
For this is why we say
Hooray!

My son gave me two ceramic fortune cookies, complete with fortunes in them! One reads Happy Mother’s Day and the other says You’re the Best Mom! True, I am! Isn’t that sweet! He had such a wonderful plan to give them to me. He knows how much I love chinese food and thought we’d be going to chinese on my day. He was going to sneak them to the waiter and have them delivered with the other fortune cookies! Clever and I probably, no most definitely, would’ve teared up! I love his thinkerings so much! However, we never made it to chinese today so he gave them to me instead in a chinese take out box! Nice plan B! He even hand-made a card! At this age that is pretty rare so I have a treasure now.

I got other goodies from my own Mom, (love you so much Mom!), and from a good friend of mine who just wanted to bless me. This is half the loot I received today!

The other half-o-loot came after church. My husband took me to a local nursery and I got to pick out three ferns and three hostas for my shade garden! They are going to look so beautiful in there! My goal is to have it so full of wonderful, beautiful shade-loving plants that it overflows with gorgeousness. Today’s presents are going to be a huge step in that direction!

I also got to enjoy a fabulous brunch at IHop with my family, my Sister who is also a Mommie, my Mom and Grandpa Bill. It was delicious! The day was sunny even-you can tell by the squints in our eyes…

The Moms


My husband also did all the driving allowing me to have a nap in the car! Woot!

But of course reality happened to creep into today too. This was my kitchen waiting for me after brunch. It’s been a busy weekend and well, something had to give. Why not those pesky dishes and piles of paperwork? Yup they can wait!

Pile of piles, of piles of piles


No matter what you do, they always come back!

Next year I’ll have to plan better so someone else gets the dishes chore from the weekly chore chart!

All in all it was a most perfect day! I am a Happy Mother and I can truly shout…

Hooray!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

