I have shepherded!

What a wonderful day! I’ve been at EcoFest all day long! It’s a fun, FREE event that happens every year in Kingston! I’ve been helping plan it for I have no idea how long, but I know I’ve only missed one and I hope to not miss any more. I have tons of fun there every year!

We took down our billy goats again this year. I do a little informational booth on having goats. I’m not super knowledgeable, but I have some know-how with billies, so it counts. I can answer questions from all that first hand experience with billies.

Take for instance how I got the billies there. I knew this year they are too big and too strong to hold down in the back of hte pick-up. So I walked them down, on a leash. It was something. Something to see, which as you probably guessed I have no pictures. It was something to experience indeed.

I live ~2 miles from Stillwaters who host EcoFest. It was definitely safer for the billies if I walked them down. What if a loud diesel passed us and spooked the billies into a jump? I am pretty sure I couldn’t hold both of them in, so one would probably become, well, not a pretty sight. Or worse, injured to the point of no return. So we walked.

They had fun at EcoFest too. I know because the kids get to feed them goat treats all day long. They get S P O I L E D big time there! I don’t mind because it’s only once a year.

Then we walked home. I had two tired and wired billies on my way home. Half way there, one billy laid down- on the road- and I had to literally pull him up. We couldn’t stop, on the road, half way home. So I made him keep going.

We made it. When we got home, they decided that eating every dandelion on the way down and back was not enough food the day. They immediately began eating in their own yard like it was the only food they’ve gotten all day. I was amazed! Food apparently is a comfort to other mammals too so I tied them out and let them fill their already full-ish bellies for about an hour and a half. Then I put two very tired billies in their pen. They took a long sip of water (PETA Peeps, they had access to water during the day too), the crawled into bed. It was 7 p.m. Early for spring billies, the sun was still up.

I guess now I can add shepherd to my resume. If I walk two billies 4 miles with no negative incidents…that’s gotta count for something.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

