Quotes

Don’t you just love quotes?

It’s rhetorical, so be comfy.

I do. I love them. I love to read them. I love to say them. I love to use them.

And I do use them.

Funny thing is my kids sometimes do not believe the words that come out of my mouth. They think that I am not talking to them. They think they are excluded. Or I don’t ‘really’ mean it.

It can be a problem.

We ate at a buffet today for brunch. I filled up. To the top. Full. At the end of the meal I told both kidlets to be sure they were just as full because I was not cooking any dinner. They were on their own. Both responded “Ok”.

It wasn’t “ok” come dinner time.

My daughter broke down into tears when I answered that dinner had to be fixed on each individuals own. I was not cooking. I made suggestions, which only got more tears. Soon enough she caught on that I meant what I said and dinner really was ‘on your own’. Thankfully, she did find some things to fill her belly after all. Oddly one of them was one of my suggestions. My timing was just off.

Quote for today is:

“When words are coming out of my mouth, they are for YOUR benefit. I already know what I am going to say.”

Bonus quote:

“Say what you mean. Mean what you say.”

I have no idea who said either one of those. Both are great though! I love them equally and even though they may not admit it, both of my kids have heard me say each one. More than once.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

