Lazy, rude or what?

So I have been hearing this a lot lately and it got me to wondering, not complaining, just thinkering about it is all…

If you call someone and leave a message they don’t call you back. But if you text or FaceBook someone you will get a response.

What is up with that? Is the phone our current dinosaur? I’m not just talking about house phones either, apparently this is a cell phone issue as well.

I don’t get it. Are folks too lazy to dial? Are they being rude? Is technology the issue? What? It is not making any sense to me at all.

If you call me and you leave a message I will get back to you. True it might not be that very day but there are reasons. The most likely one being its 10 o’clock at night and I think that is too late to ring you back. But I will ring you, or find you or email you a response.

Maybe that is part of this whole ‘thing’, the amount of time it takes us to respond. We certainly live in a ‘now’ culture and if I don’t get back to you ‘now’ is that rude? How long is too long to respond? Did we create this monster ourselves?

It’s ok you don’t have to answer, I’m just musing on this.

I understand it is not a gender issue either. Boy or girl, returning phone call messages is just not the ‘it’ thing these days.

I find this very confusing and strange but I know you are busy too, so don’t return my call at 10 o’clock because I can wait till the next day, probably even a couple of days. If I can’t wait, I’ll call you again, hunt you down personally or let you know I need an answer a.s.a.p.

In the mean time, can we all try to respond to a phone message? As mundane as that sounds, it is the polite thing to do. Right? Maybe that is ‘out’ now too…

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lazy, rude or what?

  1. Paula says:

    Hello Ms Sheila!

    Well I totally agree! I also see the difference. What I think of it is this – people have become so used to corresponding via email/FB that it is almost awkward to talk over the phone, in person etc.

    Do you notice how people will talk to total strangers OL but not at the store? Why? Its not really that much safer, now is it?

    OR not to look too deeply into it – its easier to reply back late at night when you finally get the kids to bed and you want some peace and quiet.. or its just too late to call because they dont want to return your call at 10pm. I have noticed that a lot too.

    If someone calls me and leaves a message, and by the time I CAN get around to answering – knowing its too late to call or it will be too long before I know that I will have enough time to give them for a phone convo – I will email. I dont leave it unanswered, but I might not always return it by phone call.

    Just my 2 cents – not worth a penny. lol

Leave a Reply

