Decompress

As a family and as individuals within our family, we each need our de-compression time.

Badly.

Every day.

If we don’t get our decompression time then, well, things blow. It’s either a temper, a gasket or self-control. For each of us, the blow looks different. For my youngest, it’s a reduction to tears that can’t stop for a loooonnng period of time. The oldest, it’s tears that are full of anger, which are ugly. For my hubby, he gets cranky which really isn’t all that bad on the scale of things. For me its all out anger including the ‘yell’, also very ugly.

Parent fail = my example.

I admit it. I’m so far from perfect that I HAVE to rely on grace. Thankful it is there and available to me.

We are working on it. It takes time, patience and mostly recognition.

We have to slow down enough to recognize when one of us is about to blow. Then we need to give that one space or a hug depending on various factors. If we can see it coming, we can all work together to help dismantle the bomb that is ticking.

It gets harder when I’m tired though. Prolly can say that about each of us. We all get tired and things are trickier, our fuses are shorter. I hear its nature.

Even so, we must try. All I can ask is for each of us to do our best. Try just a bit more and if not well, then let her rip. There are times it does help to vent off some of that steam.

What has been working extremely well, and was a learning curve in my parenting expertise skillz, is we must GIVE each other our decompression time.

Some down time.

Dont’ bug me time.

Alone time.

Non-interruption time.

If we can do this, then things are great! Everyone got what they needed and we can go on in a happier, better mood.

Of course life has its way with us sometimes, so we still fail.

Thankfully, forgiveness is big in our family so we get to move on and try again another day. We also have love which helps tons! I don’t mean that to sound trite in any way. Love works wonders!

Now if you’ll excuse me, my down time is gone. I has gotta cut it short cos there are things that HAVE to get done tonite. Four more hours…I can do this!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

