Bittersweet to Bettersweet

Today I missed out on some pretty important stuff. How do you working moms do it?

Wait, I’m a working mom myself now.

So tell me how do you do it?

I love to work, I love my job. I get to work with hundreds of smiling faces every day. Ok, some are not always smiling but that’s ok-we’re all human. Everyone smiles the next day, if not the next minute. Kids can bounce like that, back and forth in a heartbeat. It amazes me every time!

Seriously though moms who have been working for a while, tell me how do you do it? How do you get over the, “I missed that?”, events, adventures and milestones? Today I missed some. It kinda sucks.

My son was awarded the Character Trait Award for Self Respect in a morning assembly. My daughter said the Pledge of Allegiance over the loud-speaker with another student. I missed both.

Seems small, I know. But it was kinda big, to me at least. It’s all about time-it’s moving F A S T. Too fast for my blood.

I did get to the afternoon assembly because my hours allow for that and it was great! I sat there, next to my son, in the back of the gym and looked over the heads of all the students. I saw my neighbor in the front row, my daughter in the fourth and so many other children that I know from various places. All sitting with rapt attention, (really the assembly was awesome!) and it hit me-BAM! Just a short while ago, it was my son, my daughter in that front row. Now it’s my neighbors child and I am sitting in the back row with my son.

I remembered when he sat up in the front. So tiny, so young. Then I remembered him sitting where my daughter sits now and looking at the back of the room thinking, that will take YEARS to get there. Years!

It didn’t.

Well it did. It took the exact amount of years to move from the front to the back of the room but they went by so F A S T. Far too quickly for my liking. I will blink and my daughter will be sitting at the back, in a room that no longer holds my son at all. Eep!

And I missed two really cool things today.

It’s a trade-off I know. We are happier because things aren’t quite as tight if I have a paycheck rollin in. I trade those moments for that money. You can’t buy moments back though, can you. Bittersweet-no?

I’ll just have to sit there here and remember that work is helping us. It counts. It matters. It is taking us to ‘bettersweet’ each day. I can’t get those moments back and I’m sure there will be more that I will miss. What I do know is I will take all the moments I do get and hold on to them with joy and celebration.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

