Ick, Yuck and Ick

This is gross. If you have a gag factor, or are easily queasy stop reading now.

My dog just burped. It. Was. Nasty. Gross. Disgusting.

This is a new habit of hers. She thinks we are starving her to death so she wolfs down her food and then gives us a seriously nasty burp followed by a noisy smacking of lips. This drives me crazy, she licks and smacks for about five minutes after eating each meal.

I’m thinking if she would slow down and chew, things would be better. Even drink some water, which is located conveniently right next to her food dish. It’s also fresh every day, sometimes twice a day. A drink would probably help. But no, she has turned part pig, part wolf and scarfs down the kibble, skips the water and then burps and smacks. It’s gross.

How do you teach a dog manners anyway?

To be clear we are not starving her, she has gained seven pounds in the last four months, and due to her toe, she is not exercising right now. I would take her on my run but she can’t run for more than 10 minutes then she gimps the rest of the hour. Then she limps the rest of the day, so no runs for her until that toe is healed.

The burp-ohmy! It is made of yuck. I didn’t know dogs could burp until I had her. Now I know and wish I didn’t-ick! We are family of burpers, its true. We all burp openly and freely, but usually not in front of company. If we do burp in front of you, then please feel free to feel happy, it means we consider you family. But when a dog burps, there is no measure. It should not be. Dogs should not burp. Gas from a dog is stinky no matter what end it comes from. We can totally do without the burping. It might be worth it to feed her one piece of kibble at a time to slow her down…sure it takes longer, but that’s the point.

This burping and smacking has got to end. For my sanity, for all our sanities sake…ack!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

