Tax Time Approacheth

I can hear the screams all around me. Some are joyful, some are of agony, some are silent, others are just of annoyance. But it’s that inevitable time once again: Tax Time.

No worries, there is still plenty of time for filing and all at that so keep breathing.

I don’t do our taxes. I used to do MY taxes back in the day when I only worked one job, did not own a house or a car and did not have childrenses and the marriage factor. Now that I do have all that and more, I seriously do not do our taxes. All those forms and lines, put this here not there, is too confusing for me. Well, I could do it, if I had to, but I don’t so I ain’t.

What I do help with when it comes to tax time is shred the 8th year box o’ old stuff and empty it for the new year stuff to be put in. I help gather the myriad piles of papers that need to be taken to the accountant and sign where they tell me to. Then I await the return.

Mmm…the return. It’s so yummy! I love the return. This year it’s all going into savings! I am so excited! It’s going to be a huge boost for getting that 3-6 months emergency fund, funded. It’s a huge chunk on the path of assurance.

How weird does that sound? I know. It would be more fun to go to Hawaii (if we’re getting that much back, I have no idea), or Disneyland. It would even be more fun to buy that ginormous 10 person tent that is hanging from Costco’s ceiling that I am wanting in such a bad way. But that is not the plan. We must stick to the plan. If we do then the day will come when we pay cash for that trip to Hawaii and still have 6 months of emergency funds.

Now do you see the excitement? A paid for trip to some wonderful place with a 6 month emergency fund well stocked and no debt. The trip will not follow us home. We’ll go, have a blast, enjoy ourselves immensely and the vacation will not piggyback home with us. Now that is a vacation worth having!

So tax time, come on down. We’re ready. We have a plan. We know exactly what we are doing with you!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

