Yipes! My Driveway Needs Help!

As you know by now, it’s been raining here. A. Lot. I’m not complaining, I love the rain. You have to be crazy love the rain to live here. It comes with the package and is part of daily life in the Pacific Northwest.

Water is very powerful, it constantly erodes as it passes by. Over time it can even cut through solid rock! Much to my chagrin, the driveway is showing superb evidence of water erosion. Due to the bombardment of heavy, hard rain we’ve been having lately the driveway is in dire need of help! If the rain keeps up, our driveway may just become impassable. Even when there is currently no wet falling from the sky our driveway has a mini-stream flowing down it. All. Day. Long.

That little stream has caused some serious damage. There is a gouged out gully running right through the middle of the first hill:

Here is a closer look. I know I should have put my sneaker next to this for perspective, but I didn’t. You’ll just have to puzzle that out. I can tell you it is wide and deep and growing! Eep!

Up the driveway we are going for a brand new swimming hole!

Complete with pot holes almost deep enough for diving!

If the rain keeps up, my fear is, the driveway will not be driveable. We are not the only house down here so many of us will be stranded. Unless, of course, we have a kayak. Now theres a way to travel!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

