73 Days to Go

Today is the 107th day of school. Or so I am told by the offspring running about my house. I haven’t checked their math, but I see no reason to argue. There are 73 days to go till summer break. 73 days. That’s about 65 more lunches to pack. I know my math isn’t adding up, so I’ll explain. They buy the occassional lunch from the cafeteria so 65 is just a guestimate. I have approximately 65 lunches left to think of, make and send for the remainder of this year.

This is where you, yes you, come in. HELP! About 65 schools lunches left to pack this year and we are b-o-r-e-d. There is no creativity left in me. The kids are un-inspiring. We are eating the same ole-same ole. We need a lunch box jump-start. We are asking you to share your thoughts and ideas, your tried and true meals with us.

Tell me, what do your kids like in their lunches? How do you sneak in those hidden veggies? I have to hide the veggies, or the kids will turnip turn up their noses at the whole meal. Funny thing is, their favorite meals are the ones with those hidden veggies. We’ll keep that our little secret though…

What is your “Oh no, slept in too long and gotta whip up a fast, healthy lunch” option? I have often called sliced cheese, wheat thins and an apple ‘lunch’. But I would love more choices. Ya know what I’m saying? Certainly not so I can sleep in more often. No, not for that reason. This is just for those rare times that I do…really.

Are you adventurous in the lunch box? Or, like us, are you stuck in a pattern. Peanut butter on bread, crackers, apples…just peanut butter on something? I love peanut butter and thankfully my kids do to. But really, how many times a week can we eat peanut butter before it too has lost its appeal? Sadly, I know the answer to that, the Tootsie Pop Owl had it right: 3.

Maybe they should make a peanut butter Tootsie Pop…I digress…

A little adventure in our lunch boxes is what we want, but we don’t ‘go there’. We are so stuck where we are we can’t think of anything new. We need to break the pattern and get un-stuck. I tried. I did. I brought out a Lunch Box cook book for the kids to read through and pick out some new things. I did this before going to the grocery store so I could add all the new ideas to the list. I was so excited! They went through it with their own colored sticky notes to mark the recipes they wanted to try then handed the book back to me. I was so thrilled to see so many pages marked! That is until I opened it and found out they had marked pretty much EVERY dessert page and none of the sandwich or entrée pages. Yup, you could call that an epic fail. I should note, they did mark peanut butter pretzels…maybe that will enter the “Overslept, make a quick-lunch” category.

So I am asking you my peeps, leave a comment and tell me, what do you put in your school lunches? It will help us so much. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go make a school lunch or three…but I did boil some eggs today for variety…

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

