Between my sub-conscious, the alarm and waking up

Jamaica was beautiful! Warm, sunny, full of life, beaches, sand, swimming in the warmest ocean I’ve ever felt…yes Jamaica was perfect!

Don’t worry, I was still working while I was there. I was teaching American, (I believe we speak American not English. Drives my Sweetie crazy when I say that, but have you been to the UK? They do not use the same words as we do, frequently. They speak English, we speak American. Don’t judge me.), to the children in school. After school it was straight to the beach or the market for more rice to mix with those delectable beans and chicken for dinner. And always it was sunny, even when it rained. And the rain was heavenly!

Jamaica was just like I pictured it in my dreams!

Oh wait…it was in my dreams.

I was dreaming.

I wasn’t really there.

This is what usually happens. The alarm goes off for Grant to get up and get ready for work, I ‘miss’ it and sleep on. This is the time I usually have dreams. Sure, I’m probably dreaming off and on through the night, but it’s these dreams that are magical, beautiful and remembered. My subconscious takes over and I have a wonderful time! Today, per my request, my Hubby, woke me. I have an early meeting this morning.

I had to leave Jamaica and I wasn’t too happy about it! I was right on the cusp, working with one student who was just about to ‘get it’! Then I looked up through the open-air classroom (best class rooms ever! Right on the beach, no walls, just poles to hold the roof. A gentle breeze blowing through keeping us cool and the sound of laughter from the younger ones in science class at the edge of the water. Hey-it’s a dream remember), and here came the Nothing.

The Nothing is the all-encompassing end of my dream whether I am ready to wake or not. It is my conscience ending my sub-conscious and bringing me to full reality. I always see it coming. Sometimes, like this morning, I don’t want it to come. I don’t want to wake up just yet, I want to stay. My student almost had it and it was almost lunch time. Then a swim off the diving cliffs…I wish I could have stayed…at least for that part.

I couldn’t stop the Nothing. It comes and removes all aspects of my dream. Bit by bit, piece by piece. Then there is nothing left anymore and I open my eyes or my ears to where I really am. At least I still felt the warmth of the beach lingering with me.

I am now fully awake and it’s off to the meeting I go. After waking the kids and getting them dressed, fed then dropped with a sitter…it will all be done with a smile because I will be seeing a classroom on a sunny beach, a student with a smile on their face because “it all makes sense now”…and we are almost about to be cliff diving…almost…into the clearest, blue water I’ve ever seen…

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

