Expressions-Lost in Translation

Today has been a rough day for my L’il k. She’s been up all of one hour and 15 minutes and has cried no less than three times. Math may not be my super strong suit but I’m pretty sure this is not adding up to her best day ever.

At the last crying I turned on my Mommy skills and pulled her onto my lap for some love. And a chat. She is supposed to have a sleep over tonite beginning with the friend riding home on the bus with L’il k. The other side of my mommy brain is asking: should we still have said sleepover if the morning is going this badly? One way to find out, need to talk with her. On my lap. Squeezing lots of extra love into her.

Well the conversation was almost instantly side tracked because I used an expression that she is unfamiliar with. It went like this:

Me: “I am not sure how this day is going to be. You are having a rough morning.”

L’il k: “No I’m not.”

Me: “Why all the tears then? Are you grumpy?”

L’il k: “No. I don’t know.”

Me: “Sounds like you got up on the (here it is) wrong side of the bed this morning.”

*pause*

L’il k: “But I always get up out of the same side of the bed, every morning.”

*pause from both*

Then giggling…and just like that the whole morning is turned around and back on track. Sleep over back on and the conversation continues.

Me: “Yes you do, (get out of bed on the same side each morning). It’s an expression.”

L’il k: “What is an Xpression?”

…and the side tracking continues…

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

