Where DID I park that car?

I lost my car yesterday. Has that ever happened to you? No, just me, ok, that’s what I thought.

I was leaving work and walking through the parking lot looking for my dirt heap that we call a car. Don’t get me wrong, the car is great but it’s always dirty. Always. We live down 1/4 mile of all dirt road. With a hill. And lots of potholes. Lots. It’s hard to keep the car clean. So I have come to know my car as easy to find. Just look for the dirtiest one in the lot and that’ll be her.

Seriously. I could drive her to Scott Wade and let him complete a masterpiece such as this:

Yes, that is a car window in all its dirty glory. He is a genius!

That is what I was looking for. My dirt heap. I couldn’t find it.

I know I was walking to the right parking lot. There are two at work, but I parked in the first one and that was the one I was in. Or did I? Maybe I didn’t park in lot one and I was really in lot two. Hmmm…doubts entered my brain and I had to literally stop walking and think.

Apparently deep thinking and walking are not two things I can do together. Cos I stopped and stood there.

Looking.

Right

At.

My

Car.

Totally, completely, did not recognize it. Not one bit.

You see the dirt had gotten so bad that I am positive I was losing an extra gallon of gas each day from the extra weight of all the dirt. It was caked on. Thick. Inches of mud and muck. The license plate read: THKDRT or maybe CANTC. Perhaps even MUDLVR.

Ok it didn’t read any of those things, license plates can’t read…

Point is you couldn’t read the license if you wanted to. Too much muck covering it all up. I knew this was illegal so as I was getting gas yesterday morning I took one of those blue towels they provide and wiped the license plate off. Which kinda made it worse. The numbers became letters and the letters became solid dots. Ummm…oops…

Checking the time I had left, I went to the car wash. Had enough for the ‘Platinum’ wash and so I went for it. My dirt heap got a rinse, color soap and double dry. Didn’t know my car was shiny under there.

So after work, walking to my car in the right parking lot, I couldn’t find it. Because I was standing next to a bright, shiny machine that I didn’t recognize.

Thankfully, the key ring has that un-lock button which also makes the lights blink once. I pushed the button and..

Oh-Hello-you are my car? Yes, that is you all washed and clean. I totally didn’t recognize you…

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Hahahaha. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

