Remedies

I’ve got this cold. It’s not bad, I’m mostly just tired. I think I got started on the Umcka quickly so this cold is on it’s way out-hurray!

The sore throat part…it’s annoying. I don’t like it. Your voice gets all raspy and you sound sexy funny. It hurts to swallow so your food choices become limited which is great for the waist line no fun. And you get stink breath.

Today we have remedies for sore throats though. Lots to choose from, options that we can mix and match till we find what works.

We have the basic pain killers, acetamenophin, ibuprofen or asprin. There are even sore throat lozenges with pain killers right in them!

Then there is the less commercial options such as honey, tea, honey in tea, gargling with Frangelico warm salt water.

But these are some of my favorite ways to combat a sore throat:

Jolly Ranchers! Oh yes they are amazingly awesome at taking away that sore throat sting! And they come in flavors so you don’t get bored with only having the cherry option. One of reasons I think they work so well is that they last a long time. Other reasons maybe have to do with the stuff in them, but I have no idea…All I know is that my husband and I discovered this early in our marriage and they have become a staple in our house during the cold season.

We are currently out of Jolly Ranchers for this cold so I have a substitute:

Life Savers! Unfortunately, they don’t last as long as a Rancher. But in a pinch they’re a ‘throat saver’. And it’s what I had in the house so it’s what I’ve been using.

Maybe it’s the sugar in both that work’s so well-I don’t know. I’ve heard that sugar is bad to feed the bacteria buggies that are causing the sore throat in the first place, but the relief you get is sometimes worth it.

This go round my throat hasn’t been all that bad. I got off lucky this time! A little gargling with Frangelico roll of Life Savers did the trick. Tomorrow I should be back to my crazy normal self.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

