This is Joy

It’s Sunday. We are relaxed. The house is a mess. We are not cleaning. Right now something better is happening. Something more important. Something of high value.

There is:

Laughter

Giggles

The bounce of a ball on pavement

Screams

Delight

Running

Fun

All of this is happening now. As I type this, I am hearing this. Listening to the sounds outside my front door. I wish I heard more of this. I wish I heard it every day. The house needs attention but I am not going to stop it, not even the screams. Because they are

Playing

Outside

Right Now.

This. Very. Moment.

No one will tell them to stop screaming. Not this time. Those screams are full of happy. Those screams need to be screamed, loud and long. I want to hear them too.

They are not using any electronic device for a game. They are using a ball.

They are not sitting down absorbed in a show. They are standing, running, jumping and living life.

They are not mad at each other or unhappy. They are playing with each other and enjoying it.

This is pure, unaltered joy.

We are supposed to be cleaning, but this is worth more. To play and be outside means more. This is where you will find treasure. This is when your heart fills to the brim.

The cleaning will be there. It is not important, not in this moment. The playing, especially outside, is too rare. To play is joy, and joy is wanted. Needed. I will let them play today. I will let THEM tell ME when they are ‘done’. The cleaning can happen later, even tomorrow.

Play on little ones, when you come in we’ll make sundae’s and giggle on.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

