Static

I see an outdoor kitty in the very near future!

I am mad at Static. He’s a bad kitty!

He’s not THE Bad Kitty

No, not that one, he is just A bad kitty. This is Static:

He looks innocent doesn’t he? Looks can be deceiving. Static is naughty! Don’t let him fool you, or let him near your beautiful maple moulding. In meer seconds he’ll remove that beauty. He’s taken up scratching every piece of moulding on every door in the house!

Usually they do this to sharpen their claws. But I think he’s doing it on purpose. He uses one doorway for sharpening, the rest are for buggin me.

Really.

And he has begun to beg!

Begging dogs I’ve seen. Begging dogs I understand. Begging cats? I do not understand a begging cat at all! But Static begs. When he doesn’t get his treat, he scratches a moulding. I swear he is doing it to spite me.

Today he got locked in the garage all day because he wouldn’t go out of it and I wouldn’t let him in the house. He can’t be left alone inside, because when he is he really goes to town with those claws! We can’t leave the garage door open a crack anymore because something has found the dog and cat food bins. Did you know it takes about an hour to empty a 50lb bag of cat food into the belly of a raccoon or possum? It’s probably a whole family feasting on all that tasty goodness but still that food is for the belly of my cat. No more leaving the door up a bit.

I’ve given Static many chances to correct is errant behavior. I’ve ‘worked’ with him to scratch in the proper areas. For the record he has two scratching posts as well as a special rope style one to choose from. My moulding is not the right choice. I was hoping he’d catch on that as soon as he scratches a moulding he is picked up and put out. Immediately! Even that is not working, he did not catch on at all. I gave him many chances. More than three strikes…but now…now he is out! Literally!

The weather is getting warm enough. He has a thick fur coat and layer of fat. He’ll be fine. Maybe a few nights outside he’ll figure it out.

When we first got him he was so good. Never scratched the walls, moulding or doors. Now he’s decided to ignore all that and do as he wishes. He is a cat after all. If he won’t learn it the easy way, he’ll have to learn it the hard way. Outside naughty kitty. You can scratch any maple tree out there to your hearts content, but not my moulding.

*Note: When it dips below freezing he can come in again. Or his claws fall out, that would totally work too.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

