It's National Peanut Butter Day!

I didn’t even know peanut butter had it’s very own day! How cool is that? Yay for peanut butter! I think to celebrate we should eat it in some form for every meal today…or maybe not…or maybe yes!

Breakfast was Cap’n Crunch Peanut Butter Cereal! The Cap’n’s is definitely our favorite! I’ve been eating this cereal for years. Back in the day they used to put prizes in the box. It was good fun to dump the entire box out into the popcorn bowl to fish out the prize which was always at the bottom!

Lunch is easy, but L’il k has decided to veer from the peanut butter menu and is having a ham sandwich. Since Big K is home sick and hasn’t eaten anything in 24 hours he may also veer from the menu. Me however, I can honor it: PB&J for me! It’s one of my favorite sandwiches ever. I wonder how many I have eaten in my life…I only know it’s a lot! I have totally earned the right to wear one of these cuties:

Dinner. That could be a tougher way to eat some peanut butter…unless I make some Asian Noodles with Peanut Sauce. I don’t have quite all the ingredients to pull that one off though. Instead I could make my awesome peanut butter cookies for dessert! Yes that is a good plan! I’ll share the recipe with you, but this recipe is only for the true lovers of peanut butter. These are peanut buttery dense cookies!

Only if you LOVE Peanut Butter Cookies:
2 cups Peanut Butter
2 cups Sugar
3 Eggs

Put all into a bowl and stir till well mixed. Then drop by spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet and flatten with fork tongs in a cross-hatch pattern.

Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

This is a delicate cookie and cannot stand up to much- but they can handle these tempting variations:
crumble over ice cream
dip half the cookie into melted chocolate

Oh they are yumminess!

I think I’ll make them soon so I can ‘sample’ them to make sure I got the batch right. Ya know, just in case I may need to try again and make another batch…

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

