It's De-Lurking Day!

I didn’t know that today is De-Lurking Day. I didn’t even KNOW there was such a day.

I used to be a lurker. Big time. I would read and read and read. For hours. Other blogs and the links in those blogs to other blogs. Really I could spend hours lurking on the interweb, and I did. This was me:

Ok maybe that’s not quite me. But I was still a lurker.

Back in the beginning of my blog awarenessing, I had no idea what in the world a lurker was. I didn’t know I was a lurker myself! Until I had a chat with Jenny On the Spot. I do believe she called me *gasp!* ‘a lurker’. I was all *blink, blink* Whu? It sounded so dirty. So naughty. I was appalled that she though I had done something as gutterish as this. How do I fix it? How can I make it better?

Then she was very kind to explain to me the definition of a lurker.

And for you my five blog peeps, Lurker as defined by Dictionary is:

lurker |ˈlərkər|
noun
one who lurks, in particular a user of an Internet chat room or newsgroup who does not participate.

*the relief*

She didn’t think I was a nasty sort after all. I was simply a lurker. Whew!

Well I grew in the interwebs, learned a few things like how to un-lurk myself register, and left my lurking days behind me. I am now a commenter of blogs and a blogger of my own.

If you’re a lurker, it’s still cool with me. There are ways to check the blog ‘views’ but take heart, I have no idea how to do that. (See another thing to add to my ‘Do‘ list.) Even when I do figure out how to find all that, I won’t mind if you’re my lurker. Not one iota. Lurk away my friend, s’all good.

But if you’re thinking of leaving your lurking days behind you, maybe today is a good day to give it a try. It is De-Lurking Day afterall. Perfect!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Hahahaha. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It's De-Lurking Day!

  1. Andrea says:

    Funny–I’m a total lurker–in fact–my blog post (two times ago–is that even english?) was about how I waste HOURS blog-surfing–that’s a much nicer name than lurker!!

    You’re a funny gal! Keep up the thinkerings!

Leave a Reply

