Girlfriend Time

I have amazing friends.

They are awesome!

Some are guys. I love hangin with ‘the boys’. I grew up a ‘Tom Boy’ and it’s good to remember your roots. But I have to say, the best times are with my girls! This post is not about the boys, it’s about the girls!

There is nothing like a girlfriend. Nothing.

Girlfriends are the best of times and the worst of times.

Few can forgive and be forgiven as girlfriends can.

Girlfriends can lift you up with a smile, giggle, a wink of the eye. A laugh, a hug. By just ‘being there’ and saying nothing at all.

All friends are important and you should have a handful. Of all kinds. But if you are a girl, get a girlfriend. Or two. Or three. Let’s not be juvenile here, you know I mean a close, trusted, true, treasured friend.

You will be filled, blessed and more. So much more.

Girlfriends are there when you need a shoulder. There when you need to ‘vent’. There when you need a laugh and, maybe the most important reason of all, they are there when you need to dance!

I am one lucky gal, I have many girlfriends. Many. So many I need more than two hands to count them on! I also have a few that are the best-est of best. The ones I trust with my every dark secret, my odd-ness, my life. A rare thing to have someone to cherish that cherishes you right back! I wish it were not so rare, but then, perhaps that is the point…

I bumped into one of my girlfriends the other day on the ferry. We both had been to Seattle for some ‘girl-time’ and happened to be on the boat home together. We chatted about our days and got to talking about the importance of getting that ‘girl-time’ in. She told me something that I thought was perfection. A counselor she knew always gave this bit of advice…to husbands:

“Girls need their Girlfriend Time. Give it to them.”

Wise. Very wise indeed.

That counselor was a man. A smart man. He got it. Actually, he said he didn’t get it, but he knew it worked and that it was important. He is so right. I’m telling ya, a wise man, that one.

Give it to us, our Girl-Time.

Last Saturday, I got a WHOLE DAY of Girl-Time! I woke up and almost skipped my run to get over to her. (I didn’t. The run is important too.) I got on a later ferry than I had planned but I got there. And when I did, it was wonderful! So wonderful in fact, I am still smiling my big goofy smile and am filled to my soul two days later!

What was so wonderful, I ask myself? Everything!

We talked and talked about everything and nothing. We laughed. We ate the longest dinner in history. We shopped without buying much. We just were.

Together.

Her and I.

We don’t get to see each other as often as we would like. I live here. She lives there. We each have full and busy lives. It’s not far, but there is a ferry ride involved. So we must make a concerted effort to spend some time together.

She is a joy. I love her to the ends of the earth and back again. She makes me happy and I make her go dancing with me. (Which she totally loves. Really.) We make each other giggle to the point of peeing our pants! She is beauty walking. She is amazing, kind and wonderful. Spending time with her makes my soul happy.

Sound too mushy? Yup. Do I care? Nope.

For some reason, we girls need all that and more. We need our Girlfriend Time. It’s important and necessary. It centers us, balances us, restores us.

Girl Time. It works.

Be wise, like the counselor. Give us our Girlfriend Time.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

