TGIF or TGIM?

Today is Friday. Most folks are Facebooking TGIF and the like. I have a secret…it’s not really so secret…my friends will not be shocked by this…

Friday is not my favorite day of the week.

TGIF is not my ‘thing’.

I do have a favorite day of the week though.

Are you ready for this?

My favorite day of the week is…

Monday!

Oh yes.

It.

Really.

Is.

I love Mondays! I wake up every Monday with a smile on my face. Ok, I pretty much wake up everyday with a smile on my face. On Mondays the smile is a bit brighter, a bit bigger.

Weird I know.

I don’t know why it’s my favorite day of the week. Could it be that I long for the structure of a routine in my otherwise chaotic life? Is it that I know what the day holds? That after a long weekend everyone knows what is expected and what will be done? Is it that I’ll be going out of the house to see folks and hear about their weekends?

Probably bits and pieces of all that are why I love Mondays so much. Yet…

…somehow…it goes deeper.

Mondays go to my soul. They feel like a warm blanket on a cold night. Like that first bite of chocolate. Like a hug from a good friend. Mondays feel like home!

Maybe I do know why I love Mondays after all.

Not to put down Fridays. I do love them too. They are filled with wonderful activities, friends and family. It marks the end of another work week and signals a time to play. But Friday does not grab me like a Monday. Mondays are special.

Sure I will join in the occasional TGIF. And when Monday finally arrives I will definitely join TGIM!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TGIF or TGIM?

  1. Tina says:

    Mondays are the most wonderful day of the week … back to school!!!

  2. Dumblond says:

    I always knew you were a bit off-kilter. Mondays? ech. The only time I like Mondays is if they happen to be a pay-day or the kids have no school.

Leave a Reply

