De-decorating.

Oh it’s that time of year again. It comes every year about this time, yet I really never get used to it.

Tonite we take down the Christmas decorations.

It’s not so bad really. With all four of us working together we can get it done in about two hours. But it’s just not as joyous as decorating. It actually makes me kinda sad every year. Christmas is my most favorite holiday! The anticipation I have every year leading up to it is palpable! I don’t like the feeling of ‘it’s over’. Everything goes back into their boxes for 10 1/2 months, the carols are ‘inappropriate’ to listen to, the lights are turned off. The smiles of wonder and delight lessen, those I REALLY miss. Yes they still come through out the year, but not as often or with as much ease.

I think what I miss the most is the joy on folks faces. Knowing them well or not knowing them one bit, the joy is there and you can feel it! I love that the most! It’s a special thing, joy is. If I could have one wish it would be that the joy would be more regular. Things are tough, times are hard, I know. But joy could still be there somewhere. Couldn’t it?

But alas, we cannot live each day decorated for Christmas. If we did, I’m quite sure some of those special things would lose their special-ness, gather dust and be less noticed. So yes Christmas should only come once a year and remain that special, wonderful, magical thing it is.

At least the sadness goes away and doesn’t run deep.

Tonite we de-decorate.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Blog 365, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to De-decorating.

  1. Dumblond says:

    I am spared the depressing chore of putting away Christmas decorations this year. Since we left almost a whole week before Christmas for California and didn’t return till after Christmas…none of us saw the point of getting out the boxes.

Leave a Reply

