What NOT to do on a sunburn

Last Tuesday my family joined with many other’s at a terrific local beach for the awesome minus tide! We spent half the day there, picnicing, swimming, laughing and something else…burning! I was an excellent parental figure and slathered my brood with gallons plenty of sunscreen. Then did the same for myself. Except one rather large area. My back.

Ok I’ve done this before under the Florida sun, one would think I have learned. Apparently not. Somehow I have no clue I have a back. Not a drop of sunscreen was applied there. The sun had it’s way with me you might say. Here it is four days later, and the burn is just as red and painful as then. I have been diligently nurturing it with lots of healthy, healing creams but last night I made a huge mistake. Big. Instead of slathering on a gob of moisturizer cream with healing ointment I grabbed an enzyme exfoliator. Yes you read that correctly. Ya know the stuff that is to remove dead skin cells. Yes one heaping gob please. No harm, sun burned skin is merely dead skin waiting to sluff off anyway-right. Mercy! The new burning sensation was something to be revered!

Thankfully my sweet husband came to my rescue and helped remove the abundance of the wrong cream. It’s amazing how NOT soft a wash cloth can be. Then he very willingly smeared my newly burned burn with aloevera gel with numbing qualities added. Ahhh…the sweet relief of sleep was excellent!

Now that is Sunburn Care Fail!

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What NOT to do on a sunburn

  1. noggintoppers says:

    Oh you poor woman! I totally understand sunburns and their pain.My family actually reflects the sun. We. are. that. white.
    I have tried smearing plain yogurt on my children’s burns, and that also seems to work.Just try not to mix it up with the vinegar:)

  2. Tanya says:

    I can’t believe you stayed red so long! I thought I was white/red/white but you really take the cake on that one! And not only that, but you hold the red! Fortunately, it usually only takes once (or twice in your case) to learn and you never ever burn that same part again! Here’s to never burning your neck/back again!

  3. Casey says:

    uh ohhhh … just reading this … had to look back at the calendar to compute days and yep … this was the big beach day! So sorry you got burned that badly and no one noticed to lather up your backside! I’m sure you’re better by now but ohhhh the pain of the exfoliator on top! YIkes!!! Miss you bunches and so glad you came out despite the pain that followed …

Leave a Reply

