Christmas 2008-The Blessed Best

The best Christmas. Just had surgery on Friday and I think it worked-finally at long last my 10+ year struggle with hip pain is almost over!  But wait that is not the best-est of the best…

Last week, I had the most special evening listening to the children decorate the tree all by themselves. Daddy had to work late, really late for a couple nights in a row. I had gingerbread houses to assemble and so many more ‘things’ to get done before surgery. It was up to the kids to do the tree, and they did it-beautifully, bestfully!! Hearing their voices full of joy  and wonder as they removed ornaments from boxes-“Look at this one! I made it in 1st grade.”, “Ooooh this one is so cute!”, “It’s Scooby Doo!”, was true magic.

Then the snow came. Some do not like snow. We do, we love it! This years snow was the best I have ever had in this house, and we were blessed with it-close to two feet! The kids played till they dropped. We know our layers, so cold did not deter our efforts. This year had enough snow to actually build a jump and a slalom! Best joy!

Christmas preparation is always a long list of to-do’s, longer when the Mommy is out of commission. Daddy got one break as the oldest is old enough to make his first of batch of cookies by himself. They were delicious chocolate-y goodness melted into butter and sweet milk, I would share but they are gone. They were the best cookies of the year.

Traditionally we go to Aunt B’s house for Christmas Eve. With all the snow and me on crutches, it was iffy. But we made it. The snow relented enough to let us drive in, drive out and return home at the end of the festivity. While there at B’s, everything was beauty. Gingerbread Trees, deliciously simple dinner, good people, good times. Blessings. Joy. Love.

Then it finally arrived: Christmas Day. The stockings were filled, the candy trail from Santa was not enjoyed by the dog or cat, and opening our presents. Daddy received most everything he wished for. The oldest had the time of his life between Aunt B, Sister and us he got a wagon load! The youngest who was full of happy exclamations opening each present was overjoyed with all she got. Then came mine. Oh how well I am loved, I am happy filled to the top! I wanted and was given a MacBook! Even the children are enamored with it. The youngest said, “Oh Mom, your new computer is so shiny that even though I know I can’t, I want to marry it!”, there was swooning involved during this statement. I understand you sweet one, I understand, it’s the best!

Following dinner the youngest, who has reached the milestone of staying awake for Santa’s arrival on Christmas Eve, also made her first batch of popcorn. She is on her way to Popcorn Master, a title to be treasured. Popcorn is big in our family – the best snack.

Now it is late, there is no bedtime, but there are sleepy, over extended children. There has been the example of why we cannot skateboard in the house. Even after many verbal warnings of not doing said activity, it was the activity itself that finally sunk in the reason. But all in all, this day was full of  love, laughter, joy, happiness,no real tears, no yelling. It was the best-est of the best.

I love you my family. I am blessed by you all -Thank you.

About Sheila's Thinkerings

Happily married wife, happily mommied mom. I am far from perfect but I don't mind. Also I am a wee bit crazy, it's true. Just ask anyone who's ever met me...
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

